FEMA Region VI

FEMA Region VI oversees federal emergency management for the states of Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas, and 68 federally recognized tribal nations. The main campus of Region VI is located in Denton, Texas, just north of the Dallas-Fort Worth area.

National Youth Preparedness Council

FEMA created the Youth Preparedness Council (YPC) in 2012 to bring together young leaders who are interested in supporting disaster preparedness and making a difference in their communities by completing disaster preparedness projects nationally and locally. The YPC supports FEMA’s commitment to involve America’s youth in preparedness-related activities. Additionally, it provides FEMA the opportunity to engage young people and share their perspectives, feedback, and opinions.

Arkansas Division of Emergency Management

The Arkansas Division of Emergency Management (ADEM) is Arkansas’ Homeland Security and Preparedness Agency. ADEM serves as the state’s coordination center for the capabilities necessary to prevent, protect against, mitigate the effects of, respond to, and recover from those threats that pose the greatest risk to the security of the Nation.

Louisiana Governor's Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness

The Governor’s Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness (GOHSEP) was created as the agency responsible for coordinating the state’s efforts throughout the emergency management cycle to prepare for, prevent where possible, respond to, recover from and mitigate against to lessen the effects of man-made or natural disasters that threaten Louisiana.

New Mexico Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management

Today, the Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management coordinates the State’s response to all hazard type events and supports local response. Emergencies and disasters can be defined as something caused by natural or human-made events or any other circumstances determined by the Governor. When necessary, the State assists local jurisdictions whose capabilities are overwhelmed serving as the conduit for assistance from the Federal government. The Department coordinates around the mission areas of the National Preparedness Goal: Prevention, protection, mitigation, response, and recovery.

Oklahoma Office of Homeland Security

The Oklahoma Office of Homeland Security is not intended to be an additional layer of bureaucratic red tape within state government. The focus of the office is singular by design - terrorism by means of a Weapon of Mass Destruction (WMD) or Chemical, Biological, Radiological, Nuclear or Explosive (CBRNE) device. There are other state agencies with staff that are qualified and trained in their specific area whether it is agriculture, natural disasters or public health. OKOHS functions as a coordinating entity between those agencies to avoid duplication of efforts and conserve limited state and federal resources.

Texas Association of Regional Councils

The Texas Association of Regional Councils (TARC) is the statewide association of regional councils, whose members are focused on enhancing quality of life through regional strategies, partnerships and solutions. The 24 regional councils, also known as councils of governments (COGs), are comprised of city, county and special district members working together to implement cost-effective, results-oriented strategies that address statewide and local needs on a regional scale.